Aviation Media Logo

NEWS Last modified on February 14, 2018

LEED Gold certification for Terminal 4 at New York-JFK

Terminal 4 at New York's JFK International Airport is the first air terminal in the US to be awarded Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) for Existing Buildings: Operations & Maintenance Gold certification by the US Green Building Council (USGBC).

The LEED rating system, developed by the USGBC, is the foremost programme for buildings, homes and communities that are designed, constructed, maintained and operated for improved environmental and human health performance.

Terminal 4 received this certification with help of CodeGreen, which provided energy and sustainability consulting through the certification process.

“Receiving LEED Gold certification is an incredible accomplishment for T4,” enthuses Gert-Jan de Graaff, president and CEO of T4 operator, JFKIAT.
“This certification is the culmination of hundreds of hours of hard work and recognises our efforts to lead the way in environmental protection and energy savings, and our dedication to improving environmental quality for our employees, airlines, partners and more than 21 million annual passengers.

"We are thankful for our environmental consultant and partner, CodeGreen Solutions, for working alongside us through this process for more than a year.”

The LEED Gold certification recognises T4 as one of the top performers in the world in energy management, water efficiency, air quality, waste management and green cleaning.

Through improvements in operations and maintenance, T4 now has a 30% increase in performance as compared to other airport terminals in energy management and uses 34% less water than comparable buildings.

Additionally, in 2017 the Terminal recycled 45% of total waste through its waste management programme initiatives, including composting restaurant food waste and collection procedures for cardboard, grease and building materials.   
1ad7ca7102938fa22ab05844f91dcd7d XL
“It’s been great to see how dedicated the T4 team is to sustainability and efficient operations,” says Jonathon Matle of CodeGreen, which managed the LEED certification process.

“When we first partnered with JFKIAT, we were impressed at the robust energy efficiency and sustainability program already in place; LEED certification is a way to recognise that hard work and build on it."

There are four levels of LEED certification: Certified, Silver, Gold, and Platinum. Qualifications for Gold certification require 60 points out of a possible 110.

“JFK Terminal 4’s LEED certification demonstrates tremendous green building leadership,” adds Mahesh Ramanujam, president and CEO, USGBC.

“LEED was created to make the world a better place and revolutionize the built environment by providing everyone with a healthy, green and high performing buildings.

"JFK Terminal 4 serves as a prime example of how the work of innovative building projects can use local solutions to make a global impact on the environment.”

Share on social media


Joe Bates

Written by


Article Options

Latest from Joe Bates

Related items

Get the Airport World Newsletter!

Follow us on Twitter

8841 peoples are following airportworldmag